Apple Mango Chia Seed Smoothie

SAMSUNG CSCI’m usually not a huge fan of drinking my meal, primarily because I enjoy the whole process of chewing and savoring the food. However, as embarrassed as I am to say this, the other day I found myself without any edible food in the fridge except one apple and some frozen mangoes. I also had an unopened pack of Chia seeds in the pantry which I’d bought months ago but was too intimidated to try putting it in my food. Basically, hunger, necessity and laziness led to this creation. SAMSUNG CSCI ordered Chia seeds from iHerb upon the encouragement of my health-nut friend who told me about all of its health benefits. But I am a creature of habit, and tend to stick to what I know. Even after it arrived in the mail, I stored it in my pantry for months and gave it an uneasy side-eye every time my hand passed by it to reach the peanut butter. I know, it’s ridiculous. Anyhow, I finally mustered up the courage to try it out, and followed the directions on the back which told me to soak the seeds in water before using them. SAMSUNG CSCI first blended 1/2 an apple and 1/2 a frozen mango together with a little bit of water. SAMSUNG CSCI then added the soaked Chia seeds and a handful of ice cubes. Yes, I have heart-shaped ice. I also added in the rest of the apple and mango, and blended it all again. SAMSUNG CSCThe finished product. I am still a smoothie newbie so I had pretty low expectations, but this wasn’t too bad! I think I’ll add in some nectarines or berries next time as well. I’ll also have to look up more ways to incorporate these Chia seeds into other meals. If you have any suggestions, please help this newbie out!

Leave a Reply

