Homemade Chicken Nuggets

chickennuggets

Do you know what goes into those chicken nuggets sold at fast food restaurants or the ones you buy in the frozen foods aisle? Me neither. And personally, I don’t want to know. So, I decided to make some in my own kitchen where I control exactly what goes in. This was surprisingly easy and quick, and my husband especially liked it because the nuggets taste like crispy fried chicken but without any pesky bones to pick out (he’s a lazy eater).

I also made these relatively healthier than ‘mystery meat’ nuggets by using clean, skinless chicken breast for the meat and frying it up in heart-healthy canola oil. Studies show that “canola oil is among the healthiest of cooking oils. It has the lowest saturated fat content of any oil commonly consumed in the U.S., at just 7%. By comparison, sunflower oil has 12% saturated fat, corn oil has 13%, and olive oil has 15%.” 

RECIPE

1. Mix in a big bowl:  3/4 cup flour, 1 egg, 1 cup water. Whisk the egg, add flour, pour water little by little until the batter is slightly runny rather than goopy. Sprinkle in some salt and pepper, then mix in 1 tsp minced garlic (optional).

2. Cut 1~2 medium sized raw, boneless, skinless chicken breasts into big bite-sized chunks. I just hold the chicken breasts with small tongs in one hand and use kitchen scissors with the other to cut. It’s faster, and I don’t have to scrub any cutting boards later.

3. Add the chicken chunks straight into the batter (I let them drop right in as I cut with scissors). Mix them in, making sure each chunk gets covered evenly with the batter.

4. Heat up a deep pan filled up to about 1 inch with canola oil. Drop a teeny bit of batter into the oil – if it starts sizzling and frying, the oil is ready.

5. Add (carefully!) the chicken chunks one by one into the oil. Fry them up until golden brown on all sides, flipping if necessary . Took me no more than 10~15min.

6. Drain the oil. I do NOT mean pour it down the sink! I put two paper towels on a big plate and placed the nuggets one by one on it. I later soaked up the leftover oil in the pan with paper towels and placed them in empty milk cartons to throw out later.

7. Serve hot on a pretty plate with your favorite dipping sauce on the side.

YIELD: Enough for two people, or one particularly hungry man. The photo only shows about half of what I cooked. You can adjust the amount of chicken to as much as you need. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

